All is not lost in effort to save the summer; school events

Canceled, postponed, rearranged! It has been a confusing spring, but there is good news. 

Although tourism cancelled its events for the remainder of the year, those cancellations do not include festivities sponsored by the City of Rising Sun and Main Street. 

Some rescheduling had to be done and some permits had to be acquired, but not everything was canceled. 

Here’s what’s planned: 

■The city’s Fourth of July celebration is scheduled for Saturday, July 11.

■Music on Main will occur Friday, July 17, and Friday, Aug. 21. Entertainment will be from 7 p.m. to 9 p.m. The Cruise-In will begin at 6 p.m. and last until 10 p.m.

■The Shiner Pride Car Show is pending.

■The Ohio River Valley Cats Catfish tournament is Friday, Sept. 11, and Saturday, Sept. 12.

■The Rising Sun Navy Bean Festival is planned for Friday, Oct. 9, through Sunday, Oct. 11.

 

Rising Sun/Ohio County Schools

■The last day of school and e-learning was Wednesday, May 20. The last day to turn in assignments was Sunday, May 24.

■The last day for the Southeastern Career Center e-learning was Friday, May 22. 

■Rising Sun/Ohio County School facilities are closed through Thursday, June 30, in accordance with the governor and Indiana Department of Education guidelines.

■A virtual senior scholarship award program on the Rising Sun/Ohio County School’s Facebook live page is slated for Thursday, May 28, starting at 6:30 p.m.

■Report card will be sent by mail the week of June 1-5.

■Device turn-in, locker materials handed out, and senior cap and gown pickup will be Thursday, June 4, from noon until 8 p.m. Students or parents can come to school to turn in their device, device case, and charger, plus pick up locker items and senior caps and gowns. All will be done outside the building and lines set up for social distancing. No students or parents will be allowed in the building.

■The senior parade will be on Sunday, June 7, starting at 2 p.m. The graduating class of 2020 will parade around town with social distancing on the original graduation date and time. Come out and celebrate the Seniors along the parade route! Check social media soon for the route.

■Prom is scheduled for Friday, July 17, in the high school gym. Be looking for an MS 365 shared sign-up sheet sent out in an email from Christina Rumsey. An announcement soon will inform students where they can pay for prom registration.

■After Prom still is planned as well, but there will be a change in venue. After Prom will now be in the OCEMS gym. More details to come.

■Graduation still is Sunday, July 19, at 2 p.m. in the high school gym. Graduates will receive a separate letter and email with details.

■The RSHS Annual Athletic Banquet will be Thursday, July 23, at 6 p.m. 

■Summer athletics and open facilities for sports may occur in July. Stay tuned for updates.

■Summer school for failing students or students who need to make up credits will be in Face-to-face Credit Recovery from Monday, July 6, until Friday, July 24, during the weekdays from 8:30 a.m. until 11:30 a.m. Students will be able to make up one course credit during this period.