Submitted photo: Indiana State Police and Dearborn County Sheriff’s Department responded to a disturbance at 12300 Five Point Road, Jackson Township.

At approximately 10:50 a.m. Saturday, Jan. 12, officers from the Indiana State Police and Dearborn County Sheriff’s Department responded to a disturbance, reported to involve a man armed with a firearm, at 12300 Five Point Road in Jackson Township, said ISP Public Information Officer Stephen Wheeles.

When the Dearborn County Sheriff Deputy Brian Weigel and ISP Trooper Jordan Craig arrived and started to approach the residence, they were confronted by resident Christopher A. Schmitt, 58, who pointed a firearm at the officers, he said.

This resulted in both officers firing their weapons at the suspect. The suspect was struck by at least one of the officers’ rounds, he said.

The officers were able to render immediate first aid to the suspect and he was quickly transported to Margaret Mary Hospital in Batesville, for medical treatment, said Wheeles.

After arriving at the hospital, Schmitt was pronounced deceased. The officers were not hurt during the incident, he said.

Weigel has been an officer with the Dearborn County Sheriff’s Department for over a year. Craig is a three-year veteran of the Indiana State Police, he said.

Detectives from the Indiana State Police-Sellersburg District will be leading the investigation, he said.

The investigation into the officer-involved shooting is being handled by Ric Hertel, prosecuting attorney for Ripley County. Dearborn Circuit Judge James Humphrey made the appointment on Saturday afternoon.

Dearborn-Ohio County Prosecuting Attorney Lynn M. Deddens sought Hertel’s appointment because of the local law enforcement officers involved in this case.

Man dies after shooting at residence

Submitted Photo: Volunteers take a break, posing in front of the bear barn at the Red Wolf Sanctuary in December. The crew helped erect the base of the raptor flight cage.


Flighty work to help eagle at Red Wolf

Eleven college and graduate school students from Auburn University spent four days in December volunteering at the Red Wolf Sanctuary and Raptor Rehabilitation Center just outside Rising Sun.

Mason J. Uhlmansiek photo: Sworn into their new or returning offices by Judge James Humphrey, far right, front row, from left: Doris Young, Sonja Keith, Kathy Halloran , Raymond Kirkpatrick, Bridgett Bolling, James Sonny Henry. Second row: Ethel Sissy Potter, Amy Hochstrasser, Connie Smith, Glen Potts, Todd Walton, Don Grace, Wayne Stahl, Deborah Thomason. Third row: Gary Kinnett, Chris Flood, Kevin Rohrbach, Lynn Deddens, Cliff Thies, Nannette Williams, Marty Dennis, Hannah Burka, John Wilbur, and Ed Hautman.


Newly-elected officials sworn in Jan.

The majority of folks elected in the 2018 General Election Nov. 6 to positions in Ohio County were sworn in by Ohio County Circuit Court Judge James D. Humphrey Tuesday morning, Jan.